What’s the difference between driving without a license and driving on a suspended license?
The main difference is that a charge of Vehicle Code 14601 (driving on a suspended license in CA) means the driver once had a license but it was revoked or suspended for one or more of various reasons. Needless to say, driving on a suspended license in CA is illegal.
Driving Without a License:
It’s unlawful to drive in California without a valid driver's license. The driver's license does not have to be from California. It can be from any jurisdiction as long as it was issued by the state or country where the driver lives, and it was valid for the type of vehicle the driver was driving when he/she was cited. There are some exceptions—please contact our office for more details.
A person can be charged with Driving Without a License, VC 12500(a), when he/she has failed to renew, never obtained a license, or fails to obtain a new license within 10 days of becoming a California Resident
Consequences of driving without a license:
Driving without a license is “wobbler.” This means it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony. It’s usually charged as an infraction or misdemeanor, unless there are aggravated circumstances such as multiple citations for the same charge.
A first offense is usually an infraction. Subsequent offenses are under VC 12500 are more likely to be charged as a misdemeanor.
If charged as a misdemeanor, VC 12500(a) can be punished by up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1000.
Legal defenses to driving without a license:
There are several defenses to driving without a license in California such as 1) having a valid license while being 18 years of age or older in from a jurisdiction of the driver’s residence, the driver had a legal exception to needing a license (ie., driving a military vehicle while on duty), and a couple of other defenses. Please call our office to see whether you qualify for one of the defenses.
Wais Azami in Garden Grove is a criminal defense attorney in Orange County who routinely handles cases such as driving without a license or driving on a suspended license in California. As an Orange county criminal defense lawyer, our office is centrally-located in Santa Ana to serve all of SoCal residents with defense of charges against driving without a license or driving on a suspended license.
We help defend your rights against misdemeanor or felony charges. We can recall your warrant. Wais Azami is an Orange County criminal defense attorney with offices in Garden Grove, Santa Ana and Seal Beach to provide legal service to all of Orange County and surround areas as a criminal lawyer in Sant Ana.
Serving Orange County, Inland Empire and L.A.:
Anaheim, Brea, Buena Park, Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Irvine, La Habra, La Palma, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Midway City, Orange, Placentia, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Tustin, Villa Park, Westminster, Long Beach, Downey, Bellflower, Hawaiian Gardens, Cerritos, Cypress, Midway City, Long Beach
Copyright © 2019 Law Office of Wais Azami - All Rights Reserved. California Bar License #312092. The information within this website is NOT LEGAL ADVICE but merely meant to be general information for academic or other informational purposes. Please call our office to discuss your specific needs in order to obtain legal advice. Further, I do not guarantee the accuracy of any law nor accuracy of the translations conducted by Google. Please call our office to verify all questions and concerns.
Law Office of Wais Azami
12832 Valley View St, Suite 203, Garden Grove, CA 92845