Possession of a Controlled Substance, HS 11350(a) Defense Attorney
How does the police or district attorney prove I had a controlled substance?
What is a controlled substance?
A controlled substance is a narcotic or any drug which needs a prescription and/or is defined under the United States Controlled Substances Act.
What is a controlled substance for personal use?
It is usually defined as a small enough quantity or the amount which is for personal use rather than in bulk amount for sale or resale. Each substance has its measurement in what is deemed for “personal use.” Please call our office for more information at (714) 321-9999!
What are the defenses to the charge of HS 11350(a)?
What are the penalties for possession of a controlled substance (HS 11350) in California?
Misdemeanor HS 11350(a):
Felony HS 11350:
California Health and Safety Code define “Possession of a Controlled Substance” in HS 11350 as:
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this division, every person who possesses (1) any controlled substance specified in subdivision (b), (c), (e), or paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) of Section 11054, specified in paragraph (14), (15), or (20) of subdivision (d) of Section 11054, or specified in subdivision (b) or (c) of Section 11055, or specified in subdivision (h) of Section 11056, or (2) any controlled substance classified in Schedule III, IV, or V which is a narcotic drug, unless upon the written prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian licensed to practice in this state, shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, except that such person shall instead be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal Code if that person has one or more prior convictions for an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 667 of the Penal Code or for an offense requiring registration pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code.
(b) Except as otherwise provided in this division, whenever a person possesses any of the controlled substances specified in subdivision (a), the judge may, in addition to any punishment provided for under subdivision (a), assess against that person a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) with proceeds of this fine to be used by Section 1463.23 of the Penal Code. The court shall, however, take into consideration the defendant’s ability to pay, and no defendant shall be denied probation because of his or her inability to pay the fine permitted under this subdivision.
(c) Except in unusual cases in which it would not serve the interest of justice to do so, whenever a court grants probation under a felony conviction under this section, in addition to any other conditions of probation which may be imposed, the following conditions of probation shall be ordered:
(1) For the first offense under this section, a fine of at least one thousand dollars ($1,000) or community service.
(2) For a second or subsequent offense under this section, a fine of at least two thousand dollars ($2,000) or community service.
(3) If a defendant cannot pay the minimum fines specified in paragraphs (1) and (2), community service shall be ordered in place of the fine.
(d) It is not unlawful for a person other than the prescription holder to possess a controlled substance described in subdivision (a) if both of the following apply:
(1) The possession of the controlled substance is at the direction or with the express authorization of the prescription holder.
(2) The sole intent of the possessor is to deliver the prescription to the prescription holder for its prescribed use or to discard the substance lawfully.
(e) This section does not permit the use of a controlled substance by a person other than the prescription holder or permit the distribution or sale of a controlled substance that is otherwise inconsistent with the prescription.”