Hit & Run

What to do after a Hit & RUN Accident?
      • Call an experienced Hit and Run Lawyer in Orange County!
      • Do not speak to the police–ask for a lawyer immediately.
      • Do not give any statements in writing or verbally to anyone, except your lawyer.
      • Take notes as best as you can to give to your attorney. You will not remember details after a few weeks.

How to get out of a hit and run charge:

The only legal way to get out of hit and run charge in California is by determining the defenses available to you, whether the police investigations was done properly, whether your Constitutional rights were violated and whether what you did could be deemed a hit and run violation under the California Vehicle Code 20001 or 20002. Call us now at (714) 321-9999!

What is a Hit and Run Crime?

VC 20001 and VC 20002 define the crime of failing to stop and report an accident when having to do so. All licensed drivers must stop and exchange information after an accident. You may have the following questions after a hit and run accident:

What are the penalties for a hit and run in California?

Vehicle Code 20001(a), Hit and Run with injuries

      1. Fines and fees.
      2. 90 days to one year in county jail.
      3. Potential Immigration Consequences

Vehicle Code 20001(a)(1), Felony Hit and Run with Serious injuries

      1. Fines and fees.
      2. Two to four years confinement.
      3. Potential Immigration Consequences

Vehicle Code 200002(a), Misdemeanor – no injury

      1. Fine and fees.
      2. Up to 180 days in county jail.
      3. Potential Immigration Consequences

How is hit and run charged in California?

California Hit and Run charges can range from misdemeanors to felonies or felony “wobblers.”  If there are injuries or death, the charges will most likely be felony/felonies (VC 20002 (b)(1).  A simple non-injury hit and run with minor damages will probably be charged as a misdemeanor hit and run.

If I am arrested for hit and run, will I have to pay for damages too? 

In addition to criminal charges for a California hit and run case, you could also face civil penalties for damages caused.

While OC hit and run attorney Wais Azami only defends against the criminal accusations of hit and run, a win here could also help your potential civil case. Law Office of Wais Azami consistently receives top reviews and top awards for his outstanding work as an experienced OC Hit and Run lawyer.

Many of his reviews are written by clients who had been either ignored by other attorneys or overcharged by other attorneys. Mr. Azami did not turn his back.  He took the case and fought all the way. If you are charged with a hit and run, call the Law Office of Wais Azami at (714) 321-9999! It is very important to find a local “hit and run charges lawyer” if you live in the Orange County area of California. Local hit and run attorneys are more familiar with local judges, their propensities, and the general ways of doing business in the court to help facilitate your case.

My practice helps both citizens and immigrants with their criminal cases. The majority of cases involve simple misdemeanors and low-level felonies where good people got caught up in a tough situation. Call us for a same-day evaluation whether you live in Anaheim, Santa Ana, Stanton, Midway City, Long Beach, or Westminster. Our number is (714) 321-9999. We’re just minutes away.

Leave a comment

The information within this website is NOT LEGAL ADVICE but merely meant to be general information. Nothing in this website, nor filling out any forms on this website, shall constitute an attorney-client relationship.

Privacy Policy

Copyright 2023, Azami Law.  All Rights Reserved

Scroll to top